top of page

Tourists


It’s surprising to find out that (according to a friendly woman on a train) Prague’s population is only one million people because when walking through the city center, it’s like being on New York’s crowded streets. While only slightly larger than Austin, the tourists make the city feel crammed. I like watching the way tourists flock to certain monuments, overlooks and museums to have their picture taken. While I think many people may not even know the story behind the monument, it’s always important to them to have the picture. Along with the souvenirs, this is how they will remember their trip.


Every time I am in Europe, it amazes me that there are people from all over the world. They travel casually catching a glimpse of each major city throughout the continent. Traveling to another country can be a weekend trip rather than the month-long adventure it takes when leaving the U.S. This exposure to other cultures so early on allows people to understand ways of life different from their own.


Although I love visiting these capital cities, it would be strange to live somewhere always filled with tourists. The landscape of a city is shaped by those who live there. Much of Prague seems to be catered to tourists as there is lots of English spoken, souvenir shops, and ice cream stands. I like living in a residential area further from the city center where I feel like I can fully experience how the locals live.  

bottom of page