top of page

Candid


You can’t walk a block in Cesky Krumlov without seeing tourists take photos, myself included. Everywhere was picturesque especially in the afternoon sun. Even though the weather was too cold for a Texan to go swimming, it would have been a great day to be near the water.

While walking along the bridge, I noticed a family, (a father and son possibly) who had stopped along the river near the kayaks. The son was sitting on a rock on the water, feet barely out of the water. I wondered where they were from. The neon made me think they are American solely because my brother, when he was about that age, would only wear neon athletic wear.


The father was taking a candid picture of him. Now I feel like the word candid has taken on a completely new meaning. We use it to mean a photo that is posed but is supposed to look not posed. This photo, I’m sure, is a stark contrast to the photos many other tourists are taking. Many fight for spots in front of the overlook, the bear, or the interesting architecture of the castle. Some have selfie sticks while others have their friends and family take the photo for them.


Taking photos while traveling is a tricky balance. You want to enjoy where you are but still have a picture to remember what you did and where you were. Often times when I am in my favorite places or have a really great night, I have no photos to show for it, but when I am not quite as interested in where I am, I will take pictures with my friends.

bottom of page