top of page

Museum Night


As soon as I was planning on leaving my apartment, it started pouring. Unlike Texas, when it rains here, it gets cold. I put on my hiking boots because I still haven’t bought rainboots and I do not want to slip on all the cobblestone.


First, I went to the Academy of Arts, Architecture and Design. The museum wasn’t really a museum, it is the studios of all the students within the school. People were able to display their work, in large rooms categorized by type of artwork. I am not sure whether it was undergraduates or graduate students or if it was their senior exhibition.

The work displayed was very interesting. It showcased different typography, architectural plans, illustration, sculpture and fine arts. The work was interesting because it was innovative and unique. It was very different than going to a traditional art museum.


The exhibit was four stories. Upon entering the academy, there was snacks and gelato for sale along with an intriguing musical performance. The next level was architecture where there were model buildings, posters with rendered designs and building plans. The following floor was fine arts where there was paintings and sculpture. Then there was design where they were illustrated posters, handmade books and zines. There was also textile exhibits.


We had high hopes of going to many museums that night but unfortunately, we only were able to go to that one on museum night because of the amount of art they had within it. I was able to buy a print to bring home and will attempt to visit other museums before leaving Prague.

bottom of page