top of page

Heart of Nations

Updated: Jun 9, 2018



Yesterday while walking through Old Town Square on our scavenger hunt, we wandered into The Heart of Nations Festival. The festival celebrates minorities within the Czech Republic through dance and music. Everyone was dressed in traditional clothing and was happy to be photographed. In a predominantly white country, I think it is important that they celebrate these minority cultures. Old Town Square is a major tourist attraction, so by putting this festival center stage, it not only allows tourists to learn about these cultures but teaches Czech's about these traditions. This is the 14th year of the international folk festival and featured over 20 acts filled in music and dancing.


One of the questions of the scavenger hunt was who is the president of Czechia. I was embarrassed to say that I had willingly decided to spend a month in a country without knowing who the president is or what the political climate of the country and city are. In the past when I have traveled, the first question I have always been asked after someone learns I am American is what I think about our president or, during the election, who I was voting for. But for most of the people I met, I could not ask the same informed questions. I had no idea who the prime minister of Australia is or who Trudeau’s opponent was during the Canadian election. As Americans abroad, we need to not only be aware of how our politics affect the rest of the world but also of the political landscape of where we are.

bottom of page