top of page

Brunch with Bella


I had passed by it so many times, but it wasn’t until this morning that I finally tried Jedna, the café attached to the art museum next to our apartment. The rumor was the avocado toast was amazing, so I had to try it for myself. It was the perfect place for a Sunday brunch. It was quiet, and the sun came through the floor to ceiling windows. Because it is an art museum, there was a large spray-painted tree truck on the ground that complimented the white walls. Halfway through our breakfast, a boy, his family and his dog arrived. The energy in the café changed entirely.


While his parents ordered, he ran around the café. It was obvious, food was not his first priority, instead a quick prebreakfast game of tag was essential. All eyes were on them. he ran and climbed the tree trunk, his dog chased him as he would hide against behind a pole, she would run the around the opposite side to catch him. It was clear she was his puppy and that they were best friends. This was the type of relationship you use to convince your parents to buy you a puppy.


As soon as the boy ate his breakfast he quickly jumped up and ran outside to continue playing while his parents finished their meal. The dog raced after him barking as if to say “wait up”. Outside I asked him if I could take a picture of him and his dog. He posed for me picking up the pup and asking her to sit. He informed me she was 9 months old and her name was Bella.


bottom of page